Track Season On Hold

I suppose you can have too much of a good thing; after a busy and successful period of racing I’ve been thwarted with an injury. I managed to aggravate my left knee during a speed session at the end of April, which got progressively worse and after a few days it got to the point where I could barely flex my knee during a run. It was perhaps a bit daft initially trying to run through it, but I was determined to be at my very best for the Highgate 10,000m on the 20th May; one of the main races I was focusing on this year.

IMG_0360[1]

Current form of transport now that running is out of the equation for the time being…

This also coincided with finally getting myself a motorbike for the first time since 2009; it’s a Royal Enfield Bullet 500, which probably doesn’t mean much to most readers, but it’s basically a classic motorbike circa 1950’s and is still made today (mine is from 2010). This was perfect timing to relieve the mileage I was racking up running to and from work. It meant I could rest my knee, as anything over 30 minutes was getting difficult. I spent that week doing three mile runs around the car park at the Wild Boar Park, which was slightly over 200m per lap. Despite seeming incredibly dull and repetitive, I actually quite like this run, which is just as well because it’s all I can manage! Later that week I had issues with the motorbike and was faced with having to run nine miles to work, this would be perfect to test the knee, which failed miserably and the last few miles were an awkward limp into Clitheroe. I had no choice but to withdraw from the Lancashire Championships and Highgate 10,000m. If there’s no progress in the next week I’ll probably rule out racing in June as well; I have no interest in turning up to races well below par these days. The motorbike is fine so I’m saved from long runs to work, but I guess my knee isn’t as strong and stable as I thought, a bit like a certain political leader I can think of…

Prior to all that, the track season got off to a good, albeit brief start; I ran in a 3,000m race on the 25th April at the Trafford Open, coming 3rd with 8:31, my fastest time in eight years. I’m hoping to have a few more races at this distance later in the season with any luck. For now it’s a case of regular trips to my physio, Garry Wilkinson, who’s been great at dealing with any niggles or injuries I’ve suffered with in recent years. As we all know, it can be frustrating when you can’t run as much as you usually do, so it was really great to spend a couple of days ‘glamping’ near Appleby with Hannah for our wedding anniversary. We did plenty of hiking and spent the evening playing scrabble, where I pretty much lost every game! I’m sure Hannah is as keen to have me back running as I am, on my day off last Saturday I spent the afternoon watching Sky Sports News with my knee iced up sat with the cats on the couch, quite a change from my usual behaviour and not something I want to get used to either!

I’m quite sure I’ll be back soon and I’m hoping that by the end of the month my runs will be venturing further than the car park outside our cottage!

About vintagerunning

I'm an experienced club runner with a sub 2hr 20 marathon and hold a UK Athletics Level 2 coaching qualification. My main interest is in the post-war era of British distance running.
This entry was posted in General, Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

